IAKS General Assembly elects new Executive Board

The IAKS General Assembly on 27.10.2021 took place in hybrid form for the first time. President Dr Stefan Kannewischer reported on the activities of the Executive Board and the IAKS Office over the last two years and the present. At FSB / aquanale, an attractive accompanying programme with renowned experts and forward-looking topics has been organised, including the IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes, the IAKS Congress and the International Swimming Pool and Wellness Forum. For 2022, a couple of seminars and a study trip are envisaged.

Treasurer Holger Kortbek reported on a gratifying growth in membership, despite the challenging situation due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Three long-standing Executive Board members – Wolfgang Becker, Prof Dr Takazumi Fukuoka and Jorge Ehlers – retired from their duties on the board.

2021 Executive Board.JPG

from left to right: Klaus Meinel (Secretary General), Tom Jones (Vice President), Dr Stefan Kannewischer (President), Darryl Condon (Vice President), Holger Kortbek (Treasurer), Steffen Strasser (Board Member)

The General Assembly then elected the new Executive Board for the coming four years, with the following line-up:

  • President: Dr Stefan Kannewischer, Switzerland
  • Vice President: Tom Jones, United Kingdom
  • Vice President: Darryl Condon, Canada
  • Vice President: Yvette Audet, Australia
  • Treasurer: Holger Kortbek, Denmark
  • Board member: Karin Schwarz-Viechtbauer, Austria
  • Board member: Prof PhD Benjamin Flowers, USA
  • Board member: Steffen Strasser, Germany

The international Executive Board also includes representatives of the eight IAKS sections.

The two auditors Dieter Matz and Jürgen Schmitz were confirmed in office for the term 2021 to 2025.